h1

Teen Sitcoms, Do They Inspire You?

April 5, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay, so like most people I have my DVR set to record my favorite shows, and I’m guilty of being a huge fan of teen dramas. Shows like Friday Night Lights, Secret Life of the American Teenager, and Glee are really hot right now and sometimes push the limits of teen culture. A lot teenage driven drama has gotten more real, showing just how edgy stories involving young adults can be.

Just like television shows, young adult novels have gotten edgy and are drawing more and more adult fans, like me. I watch these shows and find myself hooked in, and like most people, compare them to my own angsty teen years. Sometimes when I’m watching these shows I find the little wheels in my brain turning with inspiration for my own writing. I will confess after watching Veronica Mars I created an out-casted, snarky character and pretty much wrote the entire manuscript in about a month, which is unheard of for me.

So my question to you is, what teen shows inspire your young adult writing?

4 comments

  1. I don’t actually watch any TV shows but I’m sure they would inspire me. And I really want to know which character was created after watching VM, was it Nat?


  2. Jenn–> Yep! Good old gothic outsider, Nat. LOL


  3. I don’t really watch TV either. Especially teen sitcoms. I used to be obsessed with Secret Life of the American Teenager, until the season finale last year. Then I vowed that I would stay away from the new season. I’ve made it so far, but I don’t think I’m going to last much longer. I try not to watch shows that make me want to smack half the characters.


  4. Woo hoo for VMars inspiration! 😀 and srsly, how many bazillions of YA writers were inspired by Buffy? Teen TV, for the win (that just sounds weird, lol!) 😀



Leave a Reply

