h1

Got Tunes?

March 1, 2010

This interview with Libba Bray for Barnes & Nobel is one of my favorite YA author interviews. Not only is Libba Bray her ever-fabulous self, but the interview also touches on one of my favorite things: the novel playlist.

Whenever I have a new idea for a project, one of the first things I do is assemble a playlist. I can spend hours (and $40) putting together a collection of songs that perfectly suits the characters, plot, and scenes of whatever book I hope to be working on for the next few months.

Quirky ghost story? The Smiths and The Psychedelic Furs.

Shape-shifter angst? Garbage and Matthew Good.

Dystopian? Clint Mansell & Kronos Quartet.

I blog about my playlist and I check out the playlists of other authors. I tweet about songs and scenes. It’s like going to a mix-tape party (ummm… tapes were those things we had before iPods) and everyone’s invited.

How about you? Have you ever spent an entire weekend compiling the perfect WiP playlist? Do you have multiple playlists for the same WiP? Do you have one special, go-to song that always puts you in writing mode?

6 comments

  1. The playlist for my current WIP consists of every remotely depressing song in my iTunes. (one of those newfangled contraptions, you wouldn’t understand ;)) I can’t wait for this MC to get herself out of this rut…


  2. Mostly there’s one song in particular that does it for each WIP. I’m probably weird like that though…


  3. Woo Hoo–love playlists! I think I talked about my last one for The Demon Guard so much, everyone knows what was on it. But just in case:

    Panic Switch by Silversun Pickups
    Savior by Rise Against (OMG, best song evah!)
    Ignorance by Paramore

    others too, but I’ll spare you all! 🙂


  4. I have an ever growing playlist for Fake My Life. You can listen to it here: http://fakemylifeya.blogspot.com/ if ya want! Two Is Better Than One by Boys Like Girls just SCREAMS Faith and Chris (my MC’s) to me. I love hearing it come on the radio when I’m driving. I can’t help smiling, singing loud and terrible, and thinking about their story.


  5. I’m a huge fan of the WIP playlist. My playlist for Touched is here.
    http://corrinejackson.wordpress.com/2009/08/12/novel-soundtrack-part-ii/


  6. Mine’s on my blog too.

    I’m assuming from The Smiths that this is Kath’s post? 🙂



Leave a Reply

