h1

An idea for Query Itch

February 19, 2010

We all know that itch.  We shouldn’t be querying.  But we’re so close.  And at this point, it’s more fun to think about an agent possibly wanting the manuscript than to go over your last couple sets of comments from the betas.

Now, let me just say, that I owe Mr. Nathan Bransford an apology.  For my last two books, he’s received queries from me before he should have.  But he’s so tempting – fast, and better, probably not interested in the MS.  I would never satisfy the itch with someone who might want my stuff, since I knew it wasn’t ready to send out.

So here’s how to avoid this in the future.   Just grow some maturity, self-control, and patience.

Okay, here’s plan B.  I think there should be an email where people can send their queries.  We’re not agents, so you don’t need to worry about actually getting a request.  But maybe the response could, in a generic, form response way, give you some response on what you’d submit to agents.  Like, “Thank you for not querying prematurely.  I’m not an agent, but I think when you start querying, you’ll get some requests.”  or something not harsh for really bad ones.  Or, maybe to build up confidence before exposing yourself to rejections, maybe they could all get some sort of positive response.  So not a critique service, not a query blog, but just something to get rid of query itch.  What do you think?

I’m not promising to do it, but if you say you like this idea in the comments, it’s pretty likely to happen.  And maybe I can help keep some of those premature queries out of agent’s inboxes 🙂

-Holen

10 comments

  1. THAT IS GENIUS.


  2. Bwaha! I love it!


  3. Awesome!! Who would’ve ever thought of this. And yes, Mr. Bransford is always one of my first recipients, in fact he has one in his inbox now 🙂


  4. Woo hoo–love it! Count me in! 😀

    (houndrat/Debra, hijacking Gretchen’s computer)


  5. What a great idea! LOL I think we all know what happened with my test query… The was one loooooong night of revisions I did…


  6. I love this idea. As you know, Holen, I’m good at sending queries to agents who I’m sure won’t be interest just to get it out of my system. *waves at Nathan*


  7. All right, it’s done.

    impatientagent @ gmail . com


  8. crap–sorry, dear, I thought you meant you wanted this to exist. if you’d rather create your own version, I can un-create Impatience Agent.


    • Cool name for it. Yes, I was saying that I wanted something like this to exist, and based on the comments, was putting something together. Is it cool if I email you to see what you’re doing?
      – Holen, OPWFT


      • Please! Sorry, this got swallowed by my inbox for a while there, but I’ve seen your email and replied.
        Thank you, Holen.
        -Brigid



Leave a Reply

