h1

When life gets in the way

December 28, 2009

After a great Christmas, a great party, and an inevitable spat with the inlaws, I’m back at the computer, only to realize that I accomplished NOTHING, writing-wise. I didn’t check out Nathan Bransford’s cool charity blog post, or the fabulous Ask Daphne query post until this morning. I felt way behind some of my more motivated OPWFT.

Then I realized, that’s okay. Because at the moment, my general life is a higher priority than my writing. Do I spend hours writing? Yes. Do I do it when it’s not fun? Yes. Do I keep revising and keep working even after a rejection? Yep. But at the moment my book isn’t paying bills, feeding my kids, or sleeping with my husband 😉 I reserve the right to put it away now and then.

What about you? Are you writing over the holidays?

-Holen

7 comments

  1. I honestly thought I would write tis week – or, at least, outline. Neither has really happened. Hopefully, I’ll be more productive when I’m back home.


  2. This was a difficult Christmas, with some moody relatives (well one moody relative, with the rest of her family in tow.) I found myself staying up late each night (everyone else here was an early to bed sort) just to enjoy the peace and quiet and since the late night is my favorite time for writing, I did some of that too.


  3. In order to write about life, you need to experience it.

    I love writing, but it will always come second to my REAL life.

    Good to know I’m not the only one!


  4. Not only that, but it’s the holidays. Writing should be fun, and it’s okay to take a break to tend after the real-life things :]


  5. Of course.:D Just not as much as I do when my kids are at school. If anything, I’m reading more this week.


  6. I love that you wrote this. I am feeling exactly the same way. I think about my manuscript every day but right now I’m visiting family and getting ready for my trip to Italy. The MS can wait!


  7. I’ve been off for six days and have accomplished nothing except opening presents. lol

    I need to write/work on revisions, but I don’t see that happening. Hopefully when I get back in the groove of work, etc., it’ll come to me. 🙂



Leave a Reply

