h1

The Lovely Bones Giveaway!!

December 7, 2009

This novel has one of the best openings ever. “My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.”

 Can you say WOW?? How can someone read that and not want to know more? This novel reeled me in immediately. I wanted to know about this little girl. Why she was murdered? Who did it? And where she is now?

 Now I won’t tell you anything about the story, because I’ll leave that for you to read and discover on your own, but I will tell you THE LOVELY BONES is now a major motion picture and premieres Friday, December 11, 2009. How about them apples?

 So in celebration of this event, I am giving away a copy of the novel THE LOVELY BONES by Alice Sebold. How do I win it, you ask? Simple. I want to hear from you. All you have to do is post a comment below quoting  your favorite book opening ever (Please keep it to just two to three sentences please) and I’ll pick a winner. Then don’t forget to check back in next week to see if you’re the winner! See, told you it was simple. Good luck!

 Annie

5 comments

  1. I don’t count as an entry, but I just have to post the obvious great beginning.

    “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” – Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen


  2. I’ll bite. Ummmmm…I’m not sure what my favorite first line is from a book, so I’ll just pick a good one from my recently read stash:

    “Someone was looking at me, a disturbing sensation if you’re dead.” –First line of A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

    Ok, I lied…I really like the one Holen posted before this comment. 🙂 I love Jane Austen!


  3. I just bought this book yesterday. I haven’t had a chance to start it but it looks SO good.


  4. Oh, this book is so high on my need to read list! I HAVE to enter this!

    From Jellicoe Road: “My father took one hundred and thirty two minutes to die.” That’s…pretty much an amazing hook. And that’s the prologue–chapter one has just as fantastic of an opening line.


  5. There’s a murder in my school. And this time it isn’t me, so I’m kind of ticked off.



Leave a Reply

