h1

Book Review/Giveaway! The Shifter

December 4, 2009

The Shifter, by Janice Hardy, is a middle grade fantasy dealing with healing magic.  The premise is that unlike with many of the magical-hand-over-the-injury examples of magic, Hardy’s healers don’t technically heal.  The pain doesn’t dissipate or go away.  It needs to be put somewhere – usually into a mineral called pyruvium.   With Nya, it’s different.  She puts it into people.

Nya and her sister live in a conquered land, in the midst of a war to control pyruvium deposits (remind anyone of current events?).  Her sister, Tali, trains as a real healer while Nya hides her own ability, fearing that with her ability to hurt, she’ll be drafted into the war.  Meanwhile, the real healers start disappearing.   When Tali becomes the latest victim, Nya makes it her mission to save her.

I loved the characters – Tali and Nya were not unlike Katniss and Prim Everdeen from The Hunger Games.  They were immensely relatable and easy to cheer for.   On top of that, Hardy’s voice was incredibly easy to slip into.   So easy, that I had to write this post without the book sitting next to me – my husband stole it for his work trip.

Here’s the deal: 

One lucky commenter will win the The Shifter, by Janice Hardy as well as City of Bones by Cassandra Clare and The Uglies by Scott Westerfield.  Just tell us what other YA  fantasy and science fiction you like.  The winner will be announced on Monday 🙂

-Holen

P.S.  You may find that we’re especially disposed to giving ya’ll stuff this month.  Be sure to keep checking in.

16 comments

  1. Yay! I love a giveaway! 🙂 I’m a big fan of the City of Ember series and, like everyone, was a total sucker for Hunger Games. I’m hoping Santa slips a copy of Chasing Fire under my tree.


  2. […] a comment letting her know what YA science fiction and fantasy YOU like for your chance to win. Go forth and (maybe) win! Tagsadaptations author websites book covers characters Debut Douglas Adams First-Time […]


  3. The shifter!

    I need to find a way to get my hands on that…


  4. Oh! I really liked The Uglies series and Harry Potter 😀


  5. Oooh this is a tough one because there are so many I want to read! I’ve been wanting to read Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr for like ever now and I think I will finally cave this holiday season!


  6. I’ve always wanted to read “Elsewhere” by Will Shetterly. I too would love The Shifter!


  7. Awesome choices, Guys! I’ve read and loved Uglies, but I’ve been dying to read The Shifter and also City of Bones. I quite loved Wake and Fade, also His Dark Materials (Golden Compass was book one).


  8. Note something I would normally read but trying new things and new books


  9. For me it’d have to be C.S. Lewis’s Narnia. The Shifter sounds like a great premise!


  10. i loved the dune series


  11. Enter me please! (Hope I’m not too late!)


  12. oh this looks great. I would love to read it! I love The Stand by Stephen King.


  13. We loved The Uglies. Now we are really into The House of Night series.


  14. Twitches was/is a pretty good series. Harry Potter, obviously. Ummmm… LOVE Star Wars Clone Wars books for kids (especially the easy readers. My son LOVES those, too). Since I have a 7yo and 3yo, finding anything other than Max & Ruby, Scooby Doo, Backyardigans, and others like that are a bit difficult. Oh, and Bearstein Bears.

    As for other books (adult): I LOVE Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, the Alpha & Omega series, Chris Marie Green’s series (Can’t remember the name, darn it), Amber Benson’s series (first one was Death’s Daughter), and a few other hodge-podge books with no series.


  15. Like the Hunger Games.

    madamerkf at aol dot com


  16. We love The Uglies and Harry Potter.



Leave a Reply

